Driving While Suspended
Driving while your license is suspended or revoked is one of the most serious motor vehicle violations a driver can be charged with. While the vast majority of these charges will be heard in a municipal court, New Jersey has enacted laws that call for enhanced penalties in a variety of situations. The enhanced penalties often include mandatory imprisonment. It is the enhanced penalty provisions that require this charge be vigorously defended each and every time.
The penalties if found guilty for driving while suspended can include:
• First offense: Fine of $500.00, mandatory surcharge of $250.00 per year for 3 years;
• Second offense: Fine of $750.00, imprisonment in the county jail for not more than 5 days;
• Third offense: Fine of $1000.00, imprisonment in the county jail for 10 days.
• Imposition or extension of an additional suspension for 6 months;
• If the circumstances included a motor vehicle accident resulting in personal injury to another person, the court shall impose a period of imprisonment for not less than 45 days.
If a person charged with driving while suspended had their driver’s license suspended as a result of a driving while impaired/intoxicated offense, they face enhanced penalties:
• Additional fines of $500.00 extra;
• Additional license suspension of not less than one year nor more than two years;
• Imprisonment in the county jail for not more than 90 days;
• Mandatory surcharge of $250.00 per year for 3 years.
The law office of King, Kitrick, Jackson, McWeeney & Wells, LLC has experienced attorney’s who have represented people charged with this offense in Brick, Toms River, Jackson, Manchester, Point Pleasant, Wall, Belmar, Neptune as well as in many other towns throughout Ocean and Monmouth Counties. We have successfully argued for dismissal of these charges, acceptance of plea agreements that have less drastic consequences as well as minimal penalties.
The information provided here is merely an overview of the law and nothing contained in this article should be considered legal advice. The law can and often does change. If you have a specific legal issue or problem, consult an attorney. If you have been charged with a motor vehicle offense in New Jersey and need professional advice, contact one of the criminal defense attorneys at King, Kitrick, Jackson & McWeeney or call (732) 920-8383. We will provide a free case evaluation and consultation.
Honest and experienced. Excellent communications skills. Kept me in the loop. Wonderful staff. Very Knowledgeable.
I have used KKJM for 3 closings. They are very attentive and had our best interest at heart. I highly recommend this firm.
Schedule a consultation: (732) 920-8383
Schedule a consultation:
Contact us by phone at 732-920-8383 or fill out the form below to schedule a consultation with an attorney at King, Kitrick, Jackson, McWeeney & Wells, LLC.
Real Estate Fax: 732-477-1304
Manasquan, NJ Law Office
2329 Highway 34
Manasquan, NJ 08736
Brick, NJ Law Office
35 Beaverson Blvd.
Building 9, Suite A,
Brick, NJ 08723